AMERICAN LAWYER | AM LAW LITIGATION DAILY

Litigation Department of the Year The 2016 Litigation Power Rankings

By Michael D. Goldhaber December 22, 2015

As a metaphor for its dynasty in The American Lawyer Litigation Department of the Year contest, Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher likes to invoke the New York Yankees of Ruth and Gehrig. But that team predated the era of free agency for athletes and lawyers. The better comparison is the 2001-2004 New England Patriots. Like that team, Gibson Dunn has now won three championships in four contests.

For the Litigation Power Rankings, we award points to past and current Litigation Department of the Year winners and finalists based on their repeat showings, giving the most credit for the toughest categories. (See the scoring key below; the current ranking includes 26 firms.) After Gibson Dunn, this year's other big gainer is Orrick, Sutcliffe & Herrington. With a strong showing in IP and general litigation, Orrick vaults from outside the top 25 to the bottom of the top 10. If Orrick was underrated, as suggested by Above the Law, it's underrated no longer. Otherwise, the mix of champions has evolved with our specialty mix, as Product Liability and White Collar replace Antitrust and Securities. Without further ado, the 2016 Litigation Power Rankings...

Score	Firm	General Winner	General Finalist	Practice Area Winner	Practice Area Finalist	Honorable Mention*
34	Gibson Dunn	2010, 2012, 2016	2002, 2014	Labor & Employment 2012, White-Collar/ Regulatory 2016	Labor & Employment 2010, Antitrust 2014	2004, 2006, 2008
25	Kirkland & Ellis	2008	2002, 2004, 2010, 2016		Intellectual Property 2004, 2006, 2008	2012, 2014
21	Jones Day	2002	2004	Labor & Employment 2008	Labor & Employment 2004, Product Liability 2006, White Collar/ Regulatory 2016	2006, 2010, 2012, 2016
19	Wilmer			Intellectual Property 2008, 2014	Intellectual Property 2004, 2006, 2012, 2016	2006, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014
17	O'Melveny	2004	2010, 2012, 2014			2006, 2008, 2016
16	Paul, Weiss	2006	2010, 2016	Securities 2014		2012, 2014
14	Quinn Emanuel		2010, 2016	Intellectual Property 2010	Intellectual Property 2012	2006, 2008, 2012
14	Simpson Thacher		2002, 2006	Antitrust 2014		2004, 2006, 2008, 2012, 2016
13	Weil Gotshal		2004, 2010		Intellectual Property 2006, 2010	2006, 2008, 2012

		 	1	1	
11	Morgan Lewis		Labor & Employment 2006	Labor & Employment 2004, 2008, 2010, 2012	
11	Orrick	2016	Intellectual Property 2016	Intellectual Property 2014	2006, 2010, 2012
11	Skadden	2008, 2014		Product Liability 2012	2004, 2010, 2016
11	Winston & Strawn	2004		Intellectual Property 2010, 2014	2006, 2010, 2014, 2016
10	Covington	2008, 2014	Product Liability 2016		2010
10	Paul Hastings		Labor & Employment 2004, 2010	Labor & Employment 2006, 2008	
10	Shook, Hardy		Product Liability 2008, 2012	Product Liability 2010, 2016	
9	Latham & Watkins	2004, 2006			2008, 2010, 2014
9	Reed Smith		Product Liability 2010	Product Liability 2006, 2008, 2016	
8	Munger, Tolles	2006			2004, 2008, 2010, 2012, 2014
8	Sidley Austin	2012			2004, 2006, 2008, 2010, 2016
7	King & Spalding			Product Liability 2004, 2012	2006, 2008, 2010
7	Williams & Connolly	2002, 2008			2010
6	Akin Gump	2008, 2014			
6	Davis Polk			Securities 2014	2006, 2010, 2012, 2014
6	Finnegan, Henderson		Intellectual Property 2006, 2012		
6	Sullivan & Cromwell			Securities 2014	2008, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016

SCORING KEY

General Winner: 5 points General Finalist: 3 points Practice Area Winner: 3 points Practice Area Finalist: 2 points Honorable Mention (general litigation): 1 No law firm points are awarded for individual Litigator of the Year honors.