Gibson Dunn | Article

Article

January 16, 2019

2018 Trade Secrets Litigation Roundup

Click for PDF 2018 marked an exciting year of trade secret developments and demonstrated the federal government’s increased involvement in protecting trade secrets, a trend expected to continue in 2019. Courts continued to construe the Defend Trade Secrets Act (DTSA)—including first impression rulings under the whistleblower and attorneys’ fees provisions—and juries doled out significant damages awards in trade secrets cases. Massachusetts passed a new trade secrets bill. The Trump administration imposed tariffs on China in response to the alleged theft of trade secrets, and also charged nine Iranian nationals for a series of coordinated cyber intrusions. Jason Schwartz, Greta Williams, Mia Donnelly and Aaron Smith highlight these and other notable trade secrets developments from 2018 in their article "2018 Trade Secrets Litigation Roundup" published by BBNA. Reproduced with permission, January 15, 2019, from Copyright 2019 The Bureau of National Affairs, Inc. (800-372-1033) www.bna.com.  Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher's lawyers are available to assist in addressing any questions you may have regarding the issues discussed in this update.  Please contact the Gibson Dunn lawyer with whom you usually work or the following authors in the firm's Washington, D.C. office: Jason C. Schwartz (+1 202-955-8242, jschwartz@gibsondunn.com) Greta B. Williams (+1 202-887-3745, gbwilliams@gibsondunn.com) Mia C. Donnelly (+1 202-887-3617, mdonnelly@gibsondunn.com) Please also feel free to contact any of the following practice group leaders and members: Labor and Employment Group: Catherine A. Conway - Los Angeles (+1 213-229-7822, cconway@gibsondunn.com) Jason C. Schwartz - Washington, D.C. (+1 202-955-8242, jschwartz@gibsondunn.com) Intellectual Property Group: Wayne Barsky - Los Angeles (+1 310-557-8183, wbarsky@gibsondunn.com) Josh Krevitt - New York (+1 212-351-2490, jkrevitt@gibsondunn.com) Mark Reiter - Dallas (+1 214-698-3360, mreiter@gibsondunn.com) Howard S. Hogan - Washington, D.C. (+1 202-887-3640, hhogan@gibsondunn.com) Michael Sitzman - San Francisco (+1 415-393-8200, msitzman@gibsondunn.com) Privacy, Cybersecurity and Consumer Protection Group: Alexander H. Southwell - New York (+1 212-351-3981, asouthwell@gibsondunn.com) Benjamin B. Wagner - Palo Alto (+1 650-849-5395, bwagner@gibsondunn.com) © 2019 Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP Attorney Advertising:  The enclosed materials have been prepared for general informational purposes only and are not intended as legal advice.
Read More

January 15, 2019

Ninth Circuit Judges Call for En Banc Review of the Federal Trade Commission’s Authority to Obtain Monetary Relief

Click for PDF With increasing regularity, the Federal Trade Commission (“FTC”) is seeking and obtaining large monetary remedies as “equitable monetary relief” pursuant to Section 13(b) of the FTC Act.  Indeed, FTC settlements and judgments exceeding $100 million, and even $1 billion, are becoming commonplace. The Supreme Court, however, has never held that Section 13(b) of the FTC Act empowers the FTC to obtain monetary relief.  Although multiple federal circuit courts have held that Section 13(b) provides the agency with this power, several weeks ago two Ninth Circuit judges issued a concurrence in FTC v. AMG Capital Management, LLC et al. calling for the full Ninth Circuit to reconsider this issue en banc in light of the Supreme Court’s 2017 decision in Kokesh v. SEC. Gibson Dunn partners Sean Royall, Blaine Evanson, and Rich Cunningham, and associate Brandon J. Stoker recently published an article discussing the AMG Capital Management concurrence in the Washington Legal Foundation’s The Legal Pulse blog.  The article describes the concurrence and how it fits into the broader legal landscape around this issue, which is clearly poised for further attention from the federal appellate courts, including the Supreme Court. Ninth Circuit Judges Call for En Banc Review of the Federal Trade Commission’s Authority to Obtain Monetary Relief (click on link) © 2019, Washington Legal Foundation, The Legal Pulse, January 15, 2019. Reprinted with permission. Gibson Dunn's lawyers are available to assist in addressing any questions you may have regarding these developments. Please contact the authors of this Client Alert, the Gibson Dunn lawyer with whom you usually work, or one of the leaders and members of the firm's Antitrust and Competition or Privacy, Cybersecurity and Consumer Protection practice groups: Washington, D.C. Scott D. Hammond (+1 202-887-3684, shammond@gibsondunn.com) D. Jarrett Arp (+1 202-955-8678, jarp@gibsondunn.com) Adam Di Vincenzo (+1 202-887-3704, adivincenzo@gibsondunn.com) Howard S. Hogan (+1 202-887-3640, hhogan@gibsondunn.com) Joseph Kattan P.C. (+1 202-955-8239, jkattan@gibsondunn.com) Joshua Lipton (+1 202-955-8226, jlipton@gibsondunn.com) Cynthia Richman (+1 202-955-8234, crichman@gibsondunn.com) Jeremy Robison (+1 202-955-8518, wrobison@gibsondunn.com) New York Alexander H. Southwell (+1 212-351-3981, asouthwell@gibsondunn.com) Eric J. Stock (+1 212-351-2301, estock@gibsondunn.com) Los Angeles Daniel G. Swanson (+1 213-229-7430, dswanson@gibsondunn.com) Debra Wong Yang (+1 213-229-7472, dwongyang@gibsondunn.com) Samuel G. Liversidge (+1 213-229-7420, sliversidge@gibsondunn.com) Jay P. Srinivasan (+1 213-229-7296, jsrinivasan@gibsondunn.com) Rod J. Stone (+1 213-229-7256, rstone@gibsondunn.com) Eric D. Vandevelde (+1 213-229-7186, evandevelde@gibsondunn.com) Orange County Blaine H. Evanson (+1 949-451-3805, bevanson@gibsondunn.com) San Francisco Rachel S. Brass (+1 415-393-8293, rbrass@gibsondunn.com) Dallas M. Sean Royall (+1 214-698-3256, sroyall@gibsondunn.com) Olivia Adendorff (+1 214-698-3159, oadendorff@gibsondunn.com) Veronica S. Lewis (+1 214-698-3320, vlewis@gibsondunn.com) Mike Raiff (+1 214-698-3350, mraiff@gibsondunn.com) Brian Robison (+1 214-698-3370, brobison@gibsondunn.com) Robert C. Walters (+1 214-698-3114, rwalters@gibsondunn.com) Denver Richard H. Cunningham (+1 303-298-5752, rhcunningham@gibsondunn.com) Ryan T. Bergsieker (+1 303-298-5774, rbergsieker@gibsondunn.com) © 2019 Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP Attorney Advertising:  The enclosed materials have been prepared for general informational purposes only and are not intended as legal advice.
Read More

January 11, 2019

How Calif. Privacy Act Could Prompt Private Plaintiff Suits

Orange County partner Joshua Jessen is the author of "How Calif. Privacy Act Could Prompt Private Plaintiff Suits," [PDF] published by Law360 on January 11, 2019.
Read More

January 9, 2019

The Most Notable Government Contract Cost and Pricing Decisions of 2018

Washington, D.C. partner Karen Manos is the author of "The Most Notable Government Contract Cost and Pricing Decisions of 2018," [PDF] published in Thomson Reuters’ The Government Contractor on January 9, 2019.
Read More

January 3, 2019

FCPA Liability for Third-Party Conduct: Identifying Pitfalls and Minimizing Risk

Denver partners Robert Blume and John Partridge and associate Tafari Lumumba are the authors of “FCPA Liability for Third-Party Conduct: Identifying Pitfalls and Minimizing Risk,” [PDF] published in the December 2018/January 2019 issue of Thomson Reuters’ Practical Law.
Read More

December 17, 2018

En banc 9th Circuit should reconsider FTC Act case

Orange County partner Blaine Evanson and Los Angeles associate Brandon Stoker are the authors of “En banc 9th Circuit should reconsider FTC Act case” [PDF] published in The Daily Journal on December 17, 2018.
Read More