Gibson Dunn Attorneys Recognized Among the Best in California for Historic Civil Rights Victory

June 26, 2024

The Daily Journal named Katie Marquart, Matt Kahn, Lauren Blas, Courtney Johnson, Lauren Dansey, Ariana Sañudo, Katy Baker, Tim Biché, Viola Li, Isabella Sayyah, Lana El-Farra, Amanda Sadra, Chaplin Carmichael and Yan Zhao among the honorees for its 2024 California Lawyer Award of the Year (CLAY), which honors the best legal teams in California for their work over the past year. The California-based team was recognized for their role in a “first-of-its-kind jury verdict in a historic civil rights case” in Deon Jones v. City of Los Angeles. The Gibson Dunn team that represented Deon Jones also included Orin Snyder, Karin Portlock, Lee Crain as well as associates Mark Cherry, Brian Yeh, Sam Whipple, Terry Wong, Mitchell Wellman, and Geronimo Morales. Profiles of the award winners were published on June 26, 2024.