April 05, 2012

To update our alert of March 28, President Obama signed the Jumpstart Our Business Startups Act ("JOBS Act") into law today.   

We believe the JOBS Act is the most significant modernization of the federal securities laws since the Securities and Exchange Commission's 2005 Securities Offering Reform.  The JOBS Act substantially changes a number of laws and regulations in a way that is expected to make it easier for companies to go public and facilitate the public offering process, while also making it easier for companies to raise capital privately and stay private longer.  In addition, the JOBS Act is expected to reduce the cost and burden on newly public companies during their first few years as public companies. 

Our alert with respect to the JOBS Act, which includes a summary of effectiveness times of various JOBS Act provisions, is available here:

Jumpstart Our Business Startups (JOBS) Act Changes the Public and Private Capital Markets Landscape 

A recording of Gibson Dunn's recent webcast regarding the JOBS Act and related materials are available here:

The JOBS Act: What companies need to know about this legislation and its impact on capital markets practices  

Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP 

Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher's lawyers are available to assist in addressing any questions you may have regarding the issues discussed above.  Please contact the Gibson Dunn lawyer with whom you work, or any of the following:

California
David M. Hernand (310-552-8559, dhernand@gibsondunn.com)
Michelle Hodges (949-451-3954, mhodges@gibsondunn.com)
Ari Lanin (310-552-8581, alanin@gibsondunn.com)
Jonathan K. Layne (310-552-8641, jlayne@gibsondunn.com
David C. Lee (949-451-4069, dlee@gibsondunn.com)
Stewart L. McDowell (415-393-8322, smcdowell@gibsondunn.com)
James J. Moloney (949-451-4343, jmoloney@gibsondunn.com)
Douglas D. Smith (415-393-8390, dsmith@gibsondunn.com)
Sean Sullivan (415-393-8275, ssullivan@gibsondunn.com)
Peter W. Wardle (213-229-7242, pwardle@gibsondunn.com)

Dallas
Jeffrey A. Chapman (214-698-3120, jchapman@gibsondunn.com)
Robert B. Little (214-698-3260, rlittle@gibsondunn.com)

Denver
Richard M. Russo (303-298-5715, rrusso@gibsondunn.com)
Robyn E. Zolman (303-298-5740, rzolman@gibsondunn.com

International
Joseph M. Barbeau - Hong Kong (+852-2214-3888, jbarbeau@gibsondunn.com)
Claibourne S. Harrison - London (+44-(0)20-7071-4220, charrison@gibsondunn.com)
Paul Harter - Dubai (+971 (0)4 704 6821, pharter@gibsondunn.com)
Emad H. Khalil - Singapore (+65 6507 3682, ekhalil@gibsondunn.com)

New York
J. Alan Bannister (212-351-2310, abannister@gibsondunn.com)
Barbara L. Becker (212-351-4062, bbecker@gibsondunn.com)
Andrew L. Fabens (212-351-4034, afabens@gibsondunn.com)
John T. Gaffney (212-351-2626, jgaffney@gibsondunn.com)
Lois F. Herzeca (212-351-2688, lherzeca@gibsondunn.com)
Kevin W. Kelley (212-351-4022, kkelley@gibsondunn.com)
Glenn R. Pollner (212-351-2333, gpollner@gibsondunn.com)

Washington, D.C.
Howard B. Adler (202-955-8589, hadler@gibsondunn.com)
Anne Benedict (202-955-8654, abenedict@gibsondunn.com)
Blaise F. Brennan (202-887-3700, bbrennan@gibsondunn.com)
Stephen I. Glover (202-955-8593, siglover@gibsondunn.com)
Amy L. Goodman (202-955-8653, agoodman@gibsondunn.com)
K. Susan Grafton (202-887-3554, sgrafton@gibsondunn.com)
Elizabeth Ising (202-955-8287, eising@gibsondunn.com)
Brian J. Lane (202-887-3646, blane@gibsondunn.com)
Ronald O. Mueller (202-955-8671, rmueller@gibsondunn.com)
John F. Olson (202-955-8522, jolson@gibsondunn.com)

© 2012 Gibson, Dunn & Crutcher LLP

Attorney Advertising: The enclosed materials have been prepared for general informational purposes only and are not intended as legal advice.